McKinney Christian Academy Annual Academic Awards Ceremony

The annual Academic Awards Ceremony honors outstanding students and their achievements.


Photo by: Sophie Sheets

This years 2021 MCA Kingdom Life recipients.

Abby Thomas, staff writer

The annual Academic Award Ceremony was held on Friday, April 30, in the Student Life Center. McKinney Christian Academy exists to honor Jesus Christ by teaching students to live biblically through education of mind, body and spirit. In Colossians 3:23 scripture tells us that “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord.” MCA acknowledges those students who work hard and exhibit Christian character by recognizing students who excel academically and spiritually. The Academic Award is given to the student in each course with the highest grade average. These students receive a medal of recognition. The Diligence Award recognizes the student identified by the teacher as being the most diligent in the course. The diligence award students receive a certificate of recognition.

Bible Department:

Systematic Theology: Bobby McWard (Academic), Kaylin Starling (Diligence)

World Church and History: Belle Kanz (Academic), Karson Kuykendall (Diligence)

Old Testament Survey: Kole Medders (Academic), Landry Nelson (Diligence)

New Testament Survey: Jay Wheeler (Academic), Landon Harrell (Diligence)

Apologetics: Tristan Clark (Academic), Maggie George (Diligence)

Philosophy: Shane Vanderhagen (Academic), Truett Rothrock (Diligence)

English Department:

World Literature 1: Kaylin Starling (Academic), Jackson Iseneker (Diligence)

World Literature 2 Belle Kanz (Academic), Gabby Gordon (Diligence)

American Literature: Lawrence Ho (Academic), Matthew Wong (Diligence)

Senior English Composition: Ava Grace Haggard (Academic), Truett Rothrock (Diligence)

Foreign Language Department:

Spanish 1: Kaylin Starling (Academic), Jackson Iseneker (Diligence)

Spanish 2: Gabby Gordon (Academic), Karson Kuykendall (Diligence)

Spanish 3 Honors: Lawrence Ho (Academic), Lizzie Smith (Diligence)

American Sign Language 1: Jackson Pope (Academic), Cash Etheredge (Diligence)

American Sign Language 2: Grayson Wilkinson (Academic), Katelyn Fillebrown (Diligence)

Math Department:

Algebra 1: Ava Thompson (Academic), Sky Miller (Diligence)

Algebra 2: Lexi Pogue (Academic), Alexa Harriman (Diligence)

Algebra 2 Honors: Abby Thomas (Academic), Morgan Davidson (Diligence)

Geometry: Kaylin Starling (Academic), Jackson Iseneker (Diligence)

Intermediate Algebra: Maggie George (Academic), Olivia Proctor (Diligence)

DC Statistics: Tristan Clark (Academic), Korey Vita (Diligence)

DC College Algebra: Korey Vita (Academic), Maliq Brock (Diligence)

Pre-Calculus: Ruth Perry (Academic), Trinity Souther (Diligence)

Honors Pre-Calculus and Trigonometry: Lawrence Ho (Academic), Sophia Petros (Diligence)

AP Calculus: Shane Vanderhagen (Academic), Jonathan Roller (Diligence)

Science Department:

Biology: Kaylin Straling (Academic), Caden Brown (Diligence)

Chemistry 1: Karson Kuykendall (Academic), Alexa Harriman (Diligence)

Honors Chemistry 1: Belle Kanz (Academic), Abby Thomas (Diligence)

Physics: Lizzie Smith (Academic), Bryce Atwood (Diligence)

AP Physics: Kaden Siebrasse (Academic), Lawrence Ho (Diligence)

Environmental Science: Shane Vanderhagen (Academic), Ryan Radtke (Diligence)

Honors Anatomy and Physiology: Trinity Souther (Academic), Alyssa Ballestro (Diligence)

AP Biology: Jacob Hocevar (Academic), Nise Olawale (Diligence)

Social Studies Department:

World Geography: Luke Golle (Academic), Jackson Iseneker (Diligence)

US History: Jay Wheeler (Academic), Bekah Impiccini (Diligence)

Dual Credit History: Lawrence Ho (Academic), Campbell May (Diligence)

US Government: Cooper Roach (Academic), Matthew Free (Diligence)

AP US Government: Jacob Hocevar (Academic), Alyssa Ballestro (Diligence)

Academic Electives: 

Business Info and Digital Marketing: Kate Nordhaus (Academic), Walker White (Diligence)

AP Computer Science Principles: Shane Vanderhagen (Academic), Connor Wible (Diligence)

Graphic Design 1: Tyler Swearingen (Academic), Luke Golle (Diligence)

Graphic Design 2: David Roller (Academic), Ava Thompson (Diligence)

Debate 1: Meagan Stephenson (Academic), Gerrit Rogers (Diligence)

Debate 2: Grant Simpson (Academic), Karson Kuykendall (Diligence)

Advanced Debate: Nise Olawale (Academic), Xiomara Okey (Diligence)

Speech: Ryan Radtke (Academic), Ruth Perry (Diligence)

Health: Belle Kanz (Academic), Karson Kuykendall (Diligence)

Principles of Health Science: Karson Kuykendall (Academic), Belle Kanz (Diligence)

Personal Finance: Lawrence Ho (Academic), Triton Nobles (Diligence)

Foundations of Entrepreneurship: Landon Harrell (Academic), Alessia Catullo (Diligence)

Fundamentals of Engineering: Jacob Hocevar (Academic), Alyssa Ballestro (Diligence)

Robotics: Jacob Hocevar (Academic), Jonathan Roller (Diligence)

Teen Community Emergency Response Team: Abby Thomas (Academic), Aiden Ewing (Diligence)

Newspaper: Sarah Kruising (Academic), Maggie George (Diligence)

Newspaper Editor: Annie Weichel (Academic)

Broadcasting: Hayden Faulkner (Academic), Ian Gordon (Diligence)

Yearbook Overall: Jake Atherton (Academic), Trinity Souther (Diligence)

Lower School Yearbook: Emma Demaagd (Academic), Kate Graesser (Diligence)

Middle School Yearbook: Connor Durbin (Academic), Lizzie Smith (Diligence)

Upper School Yearbook: Hallie Witte (Academic), Truett Rothrock (Diligence)

Overall Editor Award: Cooper Roach (Academic), Peter Michael Clark (Diligence)

Timothy Awards:

In recognition for demonstrating a commitment to Christ, willingness to serve others, teachability, and for exhibiting Christ-like speech, conduct, love, faith, and purity, the following students, one girl and one boy per grade, received the Timothy Award. The Timothy Award is inspired by the Bible verse 1 Timothy 4:12, “Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.”

Freshmen: Kaylin Starling, Jackson Iseneker

Sophomores: Marisol Sanchez, Tyler Swearingen

Juniors: Maddie Clark, Kole Medders

Seniors: Ruth Perry, Cooper Roach